ÉCU – The European Film Festival, Europe’s premier event for independent cinema announces its 25 award-winners for 2013.

After screening, 108 films from 35 countries over the past 3 days, in 3 fabulous independent cinemas, it all comes down to one moment: the Award Ceremony. Films competed across 17 categories, 7 of which were opened to Non-European filmmakers, and were judged according to their quality, creativity, and independent spirit in both form and content. Judged by a panel of internationally acclaimed industry experts, jurors found it difficult to choose this year’s highest honor, “Film of the Festival – Europe’s Best Independent Film 2013”. After much deliberation, ÉCU is proud to present our 2013 Award Winners:

Best European Independent Film 2013 Othello Hammudi Al-Rahmoun Font (Spain)
Best Independent Experimental Film Kore Eric Dinkian (France)
Best European Independent Comedy Film Island Queen Ben Mallaby (UK)
Best Student Film Martha must fly Ma’ayan Rypp (Israel)
Best Independent Music Video I’ve Only Just Begun Elias Koskimies (Finland)
Best Independent Animation I AM TOM MOODY Ainslie Henderson (UK)
Best European Independent Documentary Moving Gracefully Towards the Exit Jean-Bernard Andro, Patrice Regnier ( France //USA)
Best European Independent Dramatic Short 82 Calum Macdiarmid (UK)
Best European Independent Dramatic Feature Girl Shaped Love Drug Simon Powell (UK)
Best Non-European Independent Documentary Cavedigger Jeffrey Karoff (USA)
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic Feature Motivational Growth Don Thacker (USA)
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic Short Buzkashi Boys Sam French (Afghanistan // USA)
Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking A Tempo: The 3rd Act Maria Abdel Karim (Lebanon)
Best Short Script This Vehicle Has Been Checked
for Sleeping Children
John Burdeaux (USA)
Best Feature Script The Last Waltz of Vienna Brian Weakland (USA)
The European Youth Excellence Award in Filmmaking A Mile In Our Shoes MFC Study Support Centre (UK)
Best Editing Voices Hussain Al-Riffaei (Bahrain)
Best Cinematography The Cart Natasha Novik (Russia)
Best Actor HIOB Uwe Preuss
Best Actress Othello Ann M. Perelló
MYRA Caroline Burns Cooke
Best Director Good Night Muriel d’Ansembourg
Audience Award I AM ELEVEN Genevieve Bailey (Australia)
Special Jury Mentions We Are Not Slaves Ainur Askarov (Russia)
EAT Moritz Krämer (Germany)
Were you the last man to see Hitler? Caroline von der Tann (Germany //  Italy

To check all the 2013 Official Selection films click here.

Go top UA-100342494-1