The European Film Festival, Europe’s premier event for independent cinema, announces its 25 award-winners for 2015.

After screening, 84 films from 32 countries over the past 3 days it all comes down to one moment: the Award Ceremony. Films competed across 14 categories and were judged according to their quality, creativity, and independent spirit in both form and content. Judged by a panel of internationally acclaimed industry experts, jurors found it difficult to choose this year’s highest honor Best European Independent Film 2015″. ÉCU is proud to present our 2015 Award Winners:

Best European Independent Film 2015 HERE LIES (United Kingdom) Duncan Ward
Best European Independent Dramatic Short THE ANKLET  (France) Guillaume Levil
Best European Independent Dramatic Feature ROSEVILLE (Bulgaria) Martin Makariev
Best European Independent Documentary GAZI TO GEZI – A STONES THROW AWAY (United Kingdom) Ross Domoney
Best European Independent Animation MEND AND MAKE DO (United Kingdom) Bexie Bush
Best European Independent Experimental Film OUT OF REACH (RAIN NIGHT) (Belgium) Pablo Diartinez & Erik Parys
Best European Independent Music Video ENTOMOPHOBIA (United Kingdom) Robin Rippmann
Best Independent Comedy DE SMET (Belgium/Netherlands) Thomas Baerten & Wim Geudens
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic Short CATCHING FIREFLIES (USA) Lee Whittaker
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic Feature FLYTRAP (USA) Stephen David Brooks
Best Non-European Independent Documentary TRIP ALONG EXODUS (Syrian Arab Republic/Lebanon) Hind Shoufani
Best Student Film EXIT NEVERLAND (Denmark) Chadi Abdul-Karim
Best Short Script LONG ROAD HOME (United Kingdom) Richard Flynn
Best Feature Script THE COMPETITORS (United Kingdom) Ruth Greenberg
Best Actor ROSEVILLE (Bulgaria) Kalin Vrachanski
Best Actress SOPHIE AT THE RACES (Ireland) Siobhán O’Kelly
Best Editing BEING AN ANGEL (Spain) Luigi Abanto Varese
Best Cinematography 127 (New Zealand) Leigh Elford
Best Director BEFORE THE BOMB (USA) Tannaz Hazemi
Special Jury Mention OH! MY PRINCESS (Republic of Korea) Heewook SA
THE BARBIERS BLADE (Germany) Hakan Can
TOUCH (United Kingdom) Andrew Richardson
Audience Award THE DANDELION (Belgium) Sophie-Clémentine Dubois
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking AMONGST (Saudi Arabia) Mohammed Alsalman
Excellence in Women’s Filmmaking FINAL STROKE (Germany) Anne Chlosta


Go top