Europe’s top event for independent cinema, ÉCU – The European Independent Film Festival announces its 2020 award-winning films, including its highest honour, “Best European Independent Film 2020.”

Due to the pandemic we were unable to continue our festival in person, but here at ÉCU we were determined to continue with the festival, believing in its importance and the joy it brings filmmakers and film-lovers alike. That is why we took the decision to take ÉCU 2020 online, streaming the festival to our audience at home. With 87 films from 28 countries participating in the festival this year, ÉCU 2020 ended its indie-packed festival with its established final ceremony recognizing 25 award winners in 14 categories.

Across the festival, international audiences were exposed to films and their filmmakers from across a spectrum of experiences, cultures, and genres. We were able to bring to our internet audiences insightful Director Q&A sessions, which brought filmmakers and audiences together from around the world, and provided a great informal setting to learn more about the directors and their films. ÉCU endeavours to provide a cultural platform not only for entertainment but also for active networking across the independent film world.

For the last 15 years, ÉCU has been helping to launch and expand the careers of many talented independent filmmakers. The Festival is extremely proud to assist these passionately driven artists who create incredible cinema without the benefits of large production budgets. ÉCU’s mission to discover and promote extraordinary independent films from around the world renders it a major European cultural event.

Listed below is the full list of ÉCU 2020 winners:

Best European Independent Film 2020The ManchadorKaveh Tehrani
Best European Independent Dramatic ShortGeorge the Dog, RefugeeTomasz Wiński
Best European Independent Dramatic FeatureShibilNikola Bozadzhiev
Best European Independent DocumentaryShadows of LightWalter Fanninger
Best Experimental FilmTHEMRobin Lochmann
Best European Independent Music VideoAdagio for Strings and StormIvan Yudin
Best European Independent Animated FilmMind My MindFloor Adams
Best European Independent ComedyKoekoek!Jörgen Scholtens
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic ShortFunfairKaveh Mazaheri
Best Non-European Independent Dramatic FeatureThe Journey of a MurderJun Wang
Best Non-European Independent DocumentaryAmazing GraceLynn Montgomery
Best Student FilmMy Cat as SocratesVillő Krisztics
Best Short ScriptTime MuseumGahee Lee
Best Feature ScriptBridge by the Earthen House Paul Hunt
Best ActorDorris 85Chis Schultz
Best ActressLa GitaFatou Mbemgue
Best EditingBathhouse DrummerLiu Kai Qi
Best CinematographyElectric Litany- SealightDaniel Lindholm
Best DirectorAnacronteRaúl Koler and Emiliano Sette
Special Jury Mention The Sound of a Wild Snail EatingElisabeth Tova Bailey
Special Jury MentionCalifornia on FireJeff Frost
Special Jury MentionNo, I Don’t Want to DanceAndrea Vinciguerra
Audience AwardThe Call CentreLouisa Connolly-Burnham
The Ahmed Khedr Award for Excellence in Arab Filmmaking.ManaraZayn Alexander
Excellence in Women’s FilmmakingThe Walking FishThessa Meijer
Go top